What are services and service types?

User permissions note: Only Group Admin users can access this feature

Services: You can upload postcodes to Local Insight which will show as markers on the map. In Local Insight, they are called services.

Service types: Service types are a way of categorising your services on Local Insight. Each service can be assigned a service type of your choice, there is a limit of 30 service types. For example, previous users have defined services into types such as school, library, GP, supermarket, grant application, community centre and so on.

  • Each service type is displayed on the map using a different coloured and/or shaped icon, which you can choose.
  • You can toggle each type to display or hide on the Local Insight map.

Service metadata: You can add additional information to individual service locations, which will then be displayed on the map when a service icon is clicked on. In Local Insight, this is called service metadata.

  • The service metadata can be viewed by clicking on the individual service icon.

Viewing your services, services types and service metadata on the map

For guidance on how to upload your service information, please see the step by step section.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


Please sign in to leave a comment.

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact Us